Surprising Report About Tulare County

I was born and raised in Tulare County California…Ya know, the REALLY conservative, agricultural center of the world. Here is one thing I nor anyone else would have ever guessed about my home-county: Tulare County has the highest percentage of same-sex couples raising children. Tulare county was also the county with the highest percentage of voters supporting Proposition 8, which banned same-sex marriage in California, back in 2008 (75.1% support).

According to the U.S. census, 46 percent of same-sex couples in Tulare County are raising children. The San Francisco Chronicle reported on this amazing story. The best line from the article is a quote from lesbian mother Robin Martorano:

“The Central Valley is going to get blown away in the next generation. The kids who are growing up here will never put up with the discrimination that goes on here today.”

Times are changing.

2 thoughts on “Surprising Report About Tulare County

  1. I wouldn’t call it “discrimination.” I have 2 cousins who are gay & I love them and am glad to call them family, but it doesn’t make their lifestyle right. God created marriage to be between a man and a woman, not a man and a man or a woman and a woman. Embracing a gay culture is very lukewarm-ish on our parts as Christians, but loving the gay community while speaking the truth in love is what we should be doing. It’s not always easy to find that balance, but as Christians, as Tulare County, we need to figure out how to tell truth in love because merely embracing something that God called “wrong” is not the way to be either.

    • As a gay man, I can safely say it is discrimination, especially in an uber-conservative area like Tulare County. Whether the reason for denying same-sex couples equal rights under the law is in the name of tradition, religion, or both, discrimination is discrimination. The law is supposed to grant all people equal rights and protections, despite what one group may think of another.

      And, I’m not religious (haven’t been for a couple years now). I understand the Christian view of homosexuality quite well since I used to embrace it. However, once I realized that a) I can’t change my sexuality any more than I can change my eye color, b) that the universe operates by the laws of physics, and c) that there is no evidence to back up the frequently judgmental, condescending message and claims of Christianity, I reevaluated my life.

      I’m living my life, knowing that once I die, that’s it. Game over. I want my time in the sun to be filled with love, laughter and change. I want to do my part in making the world a better place, as cliché as that may sound. I’m gay. I’m not religious. I’m an American. I’m human. I want happiness and fulfillment just as much as you and everyone else does. 🙂

Leave a Reply

