Music Critics Addicted to “MDNA”

MDNA Deluxe Edition Album Cover

Thirty years after the start of her career, Madonna is still kicking ass. She’s a trend-setter, a master at reinvention and button-pushing and, without a doubt, the reigning Queen of Pop. Her latest studio album, “MDNA,” comes out tomorrow and judging by the critical reception, it’s one of her best works.

For album number 12, Madonna collaborated with masters of the DJ world Martin Solveig, Benny Benassi and William Orbit. Nicki Minaj and M.I.A. are also featured on select tracks. The title, “MDNA,” is a fun blend of “Madonna,” “Madonna DNA,” and the technical name of the hallucinogenic drug ecstasy (MDMA). The end result: mass appeal as well as a dance-inducing, other-worldly feeling that only the 53-year-old Queen herself could master.

Music critics got the priviledge of listening to the entire album before its public release. Their verdict: It’s really, really good.

Jim Farber of NY Daily News gave the album five out of five stars:

“…much of ‘MDNA’…has more the flip zip of a disc by Katy Perry or Ke$ha than something by a woman who may be older than both their mothers. Then again, we are talking about Madonna, a woman who, at this point, seems hellbent on giving the finger to expectations about age that she once gave to assumptions about sex…the album’s greater feat has a far more subversive, if not superhuman, dimension. It finds Madonna aging in the most nose-thumbing way possible – in reverse.”

Glenn Gamboa of Newsday have the album an “A” grade:

“On half of ‘MDNA,’ Madonna, surrounded by such state-of-the-art collaborators as hot producer Martin Solveig, sounds like she is readying her last stand as the Queen of Pop, marshalling upbeat dance numbers, well-crafted enough to match anything today’s crop of pop princesses – Rihanna, Katy Perry and, of course, Lady Gaga – could muster. On the other half of ‘MDNA,’ though, Madonna, with her ‘Ray of Light’ producer William Orbit, sounds like she could easily leave pop behind to create dark, challenging EDM (electronic dance music) and work on her far-more lucrative concert tours.”

NME’s Priya Elan had nothing but praise for “MDNA” as well:

“‘MDNA’ is a ridiculously enjoyable romp, but oddly not for the bits that are supposed to be fun. Instead, it’s the psychotic, soul-bearing stuff that provides listeners with some of the most visceral stuff she’s ever done.”

Mirror UK declared that at this stage of her career, Madonna is still a “force to be reckoned with.” MTV’s Jocelyn Vena gave sound medical advice and told us “MDNA” “is a drug worth taking.” Way ahead of you, Ms. Vena. I’m buying the deluxe edition tomorrow. 😀


“Girl Gone Wild” – **warning – this is the uncensored version of the music video**




“Give Me All Your Luvin'”




Track Listing

  1. Girl Gone Wild
  2. Gang Bang (excluded from clean version)
  3. I’m Addicted
  4. Turn Up the Radio
  5. Give Me All Your Luvin’ (ft. Nicki Minaj and M.I.A.)
  6. Some Girls
  7. Superstar
  8. I Don’t Give A (ft. Nicki Minaj)
  9. I’m a Sinner
  10. Love Spent
  11. Masterpiece
  12. Falling Free
  13. Beautiful Killer (Deluxe Edition only)
  14. I F***ed Up (Deluxe Edition only)
  15. B-Day Song (ft. M.I.A.) (Deluxe Edition only)
  16. Best Friend (Deluxe Edition only)
  17. Give Me All Your Luvin’ (Party Rock Remix) (ft. LMFAO and Nicki Minaj) (Deluxe Edition only)